InFurNation Rotating Header Image

Smart Him

One thing this last summer did of course was bring attention back to everyone’s favorite ocean-born anthro-villain, King Shark. Taking obvious advantage of that, DC Comics have brought us the new Suicide Squad: King Shark 6-part miniseries, written by Tim Seeley and illustrated by Scott Kolins and John Kalisz. “On leave from the Suicide Squad, King Shark and unfortunate tagalong the Defacer get swept into a mystical tournament for totemic animal spirits at the behest of King Shark’s father, the god of sharks! Now King Shark must battle brutal warriors like Queen Tiger, King Roach, Prince Nematode, Princess Peregrine, and the terrifying Man King to finally attain his destiny and make his dour dad proud!” Sounds even furrier than usual, don’t it? There’s a review over at CBR.

image c. 2021 DC Comics

More High School Hi-jinks

Here’s another one from Seven Seas — one that we missed earlier this year! Tamamo-Chan’s A Fox! is a very-furry-sounding manga by Ray Yuuki. The description goes like this: “Fushimi Tamamo is a fox from the Inari Shrine in Kyoto who longs to try high school life. She transforms into a human girl — but while she thinks she’s nailed her disguise, she’s a little furrier than she realized. Adults don’t seem to notice, and her classmates pretend not to, but Tamamo is definitely shaking up their ordinary high school life!” Heh, a little furrier, they say. Several volumes of this graphic novel series are out already.

image c. 2021 Seven Seas Entertainment

Magic Not Human

Just out now from Seven Seas Entertainment, The Ancient Magus’ Bride: Alchemist’s Blue (long title!) is a new black and white graphic novel from writers Kore Yamazaki and Makoto Sanda, illustrated by Isuo Tsukumo. We got this from Previews: “In Paris, an orphan boy named Blue is taken under the wing of the magus Gisele in this spin-off manga about the artistry of magic. For readers interested in a gender-swapped take on the original premise of The Ancient Magus’ Bride, this gorgeous manga is full of all-new wonder.”

image c. 2021 Seven Seas Entertainment

More Fairy Tales Get Weird

Once again it’s modern takes on classic fairy tales with the new Far Out Fables series of short graphic novels from Capstone. Take Little Red Hen, Video Star (written by Steve Foxe and illustrated by Otis Frampton) for instance. “Animals in Barnyard Meadows are glued to their phones. But Little Red Hen doesn’t just want to watch internet videos. She wants to make them too! Unfortunately, her friends aren’t eager to put in the hard work of creating an online baking show. When each step of the process reveals the wild side of their quiet town, will Red’s friends realize all the fun they’re missing, and can the hen become a video star?” Other titles in the series include The Three Little Flying Pigs, Puss In Magical Motocross Boots, and The Grasshopper and the Ant at the End of the World. Whew! All of them are available now in trade paperback.

image c. 2021 Capstone

Off With Her Haida!

And now for something quite a bit different… A popular and award-winning anime series takes on a classic of European fantasy with Aggretsuko: Down The Rabbit Hole. “When Retsuko attempts to go on vacation with Gori and Washimi, she’s pulled into a terrible world where she’s forced to work for her freedom. Featuring all of the fan favorite characters from the office in twisted versions of themselves, Aggretsuko must navigate the twists and turns of a world gone mad!” Written and illustrated by Patabot, this new hardcover graphic novel from the folks at Oni Press hits the shelves this October.

image c. 2021 Oni Press

To Whom It May Concern…

There’s a new hardcover book available from our friends at Magnetic Press. “Letters From Animals is a collection of stories told from the perspective of different animals whose lives are impacted by human society. It’s a graphical adaptation of wildlife conservationist Allain Bourgrain Dubourg’s celebrated book by the same title… Adapted by wildlife comic author Fred Brremaud (Love, Little Tails, etc) this volume is presented in a visually engaging animated style by artist Giovanni Rigano (Illegal, Artemis Fowl)”. Check out the detailed previews over at the publisher’s web site and also at Comic Book Resources.

image c. 2021 Magnetic Press

Rodent on the Range

And here we go again… Yet another interesting-sounding anthropomorphic animated project that sounds like it’s being distributed all over the world — but not here in North America. At very least not yet. From Animation World Network: “French animation production and distribution company Dandelooo has secured several deals for Billy the Cowboy Hamster, a preschool 2D animated series commissioned by France Televisions… Directed by the Swiss illustrator Antoine Rota (Kaeeloo) and Caz Murrell, Billy the Cowboy Hamster targets 4- to 7-year-olds. The series, based on the popular book series by Dutch author and illustrator Catharina Valckx, has sold over one million books in France and is popular in many other countries. The show follows three friends, Billy, Jean-Claude the worm, and Suzie the stone marten as they embark on thrill-seeking adventures… In the series, Billy wants to become a cowboy, but he is only a little boy… well a little hamster really! Growing up in the Wild West and raised on the exciting stories told by his father, he has a burning desire to hit the trail! Donning his cowboy outfit, Billy sees every day as a chance to go on an adventure worthy of the greatest cowboys.” The series is in production now. Here’s hoping we get so see it out our way sometime!

image c. 2021 Dandeloo

 

Dice-Rolling Rovers

A friend pointed this out to us — and just in time too, as it just hit the shelves! It’s Campaigns & Companions, a new hard-cover book by Andi Ewington,  Rhianna Pratchett, and Alex De Campi, with illustrations by Calum Alexander Watt. “If there are two things all geeks love, it’s roleplaying games, and their pets. So why not fuse the two? It’s time to grab your dice, dust off that character sheet, and let your cat or dog (or guinea pig, or iguana, or budgie) accompany you on an epic adventure! It’ll be great! … unless you have pets like these.” Distributed by Simon & Schuster, it’s available everywhere now.

image c. 2021 Rebellion Publishing

Worry’s For Another Day

Fans of Muppets and Really Good TV: Rejoice! There’s a new book out called Fraggle Rock: The Ultimate Visual History, edited by Noel Murray and Jody Revenson. “It’s been over thirty-five years since the irrepressible Fraggles first hit the screen in the beloved children’s television hit Fraggle Rock. Created by the legendary Jim Henson, along with Michael K. Frith, Jerry Juhl, Duncan Kenworthy, and Jocelyn Stevenson, Fraggle Rock remains a favorite of fans to this day. This delightful volume tells the incredible story of the bighearted show that helped instill open-minded values in a whole generation of viewers. Fraggle Rock: The Ultimate Visual History follows the show’s creation, from early concepts to the incredible puppetry that brought the unforgettable characters, such as Gobo, Red, and Mokey, to life. Exclusive interviews with Stevenson, Frith, Kenworthy, and several other major contributors reveal fascinating, exclusive insights that take the reader further into Jim Henson’s world than ever before.” It’s available later this month, in hardcover from Simon & Schuster.

image c. 2021 Simon & Schuster